Welcome | Grupo de Turismo Gaviota | Cuba
Tour Group





Beyond the rhythms of the island, the mysterious mangroves, the towering rainforests, the calcareous sands, the coral reefs and its great historical appeal, it is its people what makes Cuba truly unforgettable. Here we find a true melting pot of cultures, a country full of educated, gentle and captivating people that will welcome you with open arms.

Basic Information

Language: Spanish

Population: 11,120,000.

Number of provinces: 15

Pinar del Rio, Artemisa, Mayabeque, Havana, Matanzas, Cienfuegos, Villa Clara, Sancti Spiritus, Ciego de Avila, Camaguey, Las Tunas, Granma, Santiago de Cuba, Holguin and Guantanamo. In addition to the special municipality of Isla de la Juventud.

Coat of Arms (adopted in 1906): A golden key symbolizes Cuba's location at the entrance of the Gulf of Mexico and between the two Americas, while the rising sun represents a new nation. Three blue stripes on the bottom left represent the three regions of the colonial period. In the lower right part the royal palm (Cuba's national tree) is a symbol of the nobility and determination of the Cuban people, while the mountains and the clear blue sky represent a typical Cuban landscape. The coat is supported by a bundle of eleven sticks and symbolizes the unity of the Cuban people in its struggle for freedom. The bundle of sticks’ crown is covered by a Phrygian cap, or liberty cap, which has a single white star, symbol of the independence. At the right edge of the coat there is a branch of holm oak and at the left one there is a laurel branch, representing the strength and the victory. 

Flag (it waved for the first time in 1850; it’s the official flag since 1902): The triangle is a reference to liberty, equality and fraternity, while its red color symbolizes the blood that it would be necessary to shed to obtain the freedom. In the middle of the triangle, the white star symbolizes the absolute freedom. The three blue stripes represent the colonial regions of eastern, central and western parts of the country, interspersed with white stripes signifying the purity and virtue of the Cuban people.

National flower: The Lily Butterfly (Hedychium Coronarium Koenig), a fragrant variety of the native white jasmine.

National bird: The Cuban trogon* (Priotelus Temnurus), or Tocororo, holds in its plumage the same Cuban flag’s colors.

National Tree: The royal palm.

National anthem: The Bayamesa (Hymn of Bayamo), composed in 1867-1868 by Perucho Figueredo.

Legal voting age: 16 years.

Declared World Heritage Sites by UNESCO: 9

  • Havana’s Old Havana and its Fortifications system
  • Trinidad and the Sugar Mills Valley
  • San Pedro de la Roca castle, Santiago de Cuba
  • Landing of Granma National Park
  • Viñales Valley
  • Archaeological Landscape of the First Coffee Plantations in the Southeast of Cuba
  • Alejandro de Humboldt National Park
  • The Urban Historic Centre of Cienfuegos City
  • The Historic Centre of Camagüey City

Time zone: Eastern Standard Time (MG)
Taken from http://autenticacuba.com

* Trogon is a genus of birds, of the Trogonidae family

Tweets por @GaviotaTurismo Ocultar la capa

Mostrar la capa

Ocultar la capa

Mostrar la capa